International School Telemark
Hovet Ring 7,
3931 Porsgrunn

+ 47 35 29 14 00


Opening Hours:
Monday to Friday
08.30 – 16.00

IST Staff

The majority of our staff are international, having trained, lived and worked in many countries outside of Norway.


Dr. Richard Caffyn

Principal 35 29 14 00

Dr Richard Caffyn is originally from the UK and joined IST in 2011 from the International School of Milan in Italy where he held the position of Primary School Principal. Previous to this, he was employed as Head of Research Support and Development for the IB at the University of Bath for five years. He has been working in international schools around the world for over 30 years, including schools in Austria, Romania and Azerbaijan. He has a PhD from the University of Bath in the UK. Also, he has an MA in Educational Management from the Open University and a BEd (Hons), including teaching qualification, from Canterbury Christ Church University. Dr Richard’s hobbies include music, comedy, travel, sports, art and architecture, folklore and reading. He enjoys walking, visiting medieval castles and towns, and ghost stories.
This will be his twelfth year at IST.

Mette Oprann

Deputy Principal Administration 35 29 14 00

Bachelor in Business Administration and Master in International Business

Norway and France

Family and friends, hiking, skiing and sailing

Julie Strøm

MYP Coordinator 35 29 14 00

Tjandra Purnama

PYP Coordinator 35 29 14 00

Tjandra has been working at IST as PYP Coordinator since October 2016. He is originally from Indonesia and has joined us from Kristiansand International School, where he held the position of PYP homeroom teacher. Tjandra has been working in international schools around the world for over 20 years, including schools in China and Indonesia. He has a master’s degree in integrating technology into the classroom practices from Walden University and a bachelor’s degree in teaching from Satya Wacana Christian University in Indonesia. In his free time, he loves to watch films and cooking.

Anthony Geving

SEN Coordinator 35 29 14 00


Eli Qvam

School secretary 35 29 14 00

Ane Sætha

School Secretary 35 29 14 00

Teachers Primary School (PYP)

Teachers Middle School (MYP)

Other non-voting participants include
  • The Principal
  • Clear to the Board
  • Parent Council Representative
  • Student Council Representative
  • Teaching Staff Representative
  • Non-Teaching Staff Representative
  • Observer from Porsgrunn Kommune