logo_mountain_personStaff at IST come from all over the world and are friendly, dedicated and well qualified

The Staff at IST

IST is an international school in Norway, offering the IB curriculum. The majority of our staff are international, having trained, lived and worked in many countries outside of Norway. When employing staff, a rigorous and extensive series of interviews and reference checks are carried out. For the majority of positions, at least 3 interviews take place involving the Principal, a member of the Senior Management Team, and PYP / MYP / SEN Coordinators. Others may be involved depending on the role. Those invited for interview are also required to supply a minimum of 3 references. Reference checks are extensive and a sample can be viewed on our website.

Staff at IST come with a vast array of qualifications. Staff may have a teaching qualification or may be an expert in their field. IST offers an extensive training package to ensure that we have the right people in the right jobs, that they are suitably up-to-date in their field and are trained to the necessary standards.

Teaching qualifications are many and include teachers who have:

Bachelors in Education
Honours in Education
Post Graduate Certificate in Education
Masters in Education
Masters in Special Education
PPU (Norwegian)
Allmennlærerutdaning (Norwegian)

Our specialist subject teachers come with degrees and training in their field of expertise, from mother-tongue language specialists, to music, visual art, performing arts specialists and even social workers, barnevernspedagog (child welfare) and barne- og ungdomsarbeiderfaget (children and youth workers).

As is standard international training practice, teachers who teach in the primary section are not required to be subject specialists. International primary teachers may be an early years, junior primary or senior primary specialists. Norwegian qualifications that are acceptable for teaching in our primary department include allmenlærerutdaning and PPU. Where IST requires a specific skill set, the staff employed are able to offer this, whether it be mother-tongue, art, music or other areas. In our middle years department, teachers are trained as subject specialists, are experts in their field and / or have undergone specific subject related training outside of teaching. This is common international practice and IST ensures our subject teachers are up-to-date with their subject knowledge through an extensive training package of both IB and pedagogical training.

In addition to all these qualifications, teachers also have Nokut and / or Udir recognition of their qualifications, if required. This is a lengthy process and any teacher still working on this does so with the full knowledge, support and assistance of the school.

Dr. Richard Caffyn
Principal

principal@istelemark.no

Mette Oprann
Deputy Principal Administration

mette@istelemark.no

Julie Strøm
MYP Coordinator, English (MYP)

julie@istelemark.no

Eli Qvam
School Secretary

eli@istelemark.no

Ane Sætha
School Secretary

ane@istelemark.no

Anthony Geving
SEN Coordinator

anthony@istelemark.no

Linda Kingdom-Clark
SEN Teacher (PYP)

linda@istelemark.no

Sabine Douglas
SEN Teacher (MYP)

sabine@istelemark.no

Milena Topovic
Grade 1 Class Teacher

milena@istelemark.no

Jacqueline Schulze
Grade 2 Class Teacher

jackie@istelemark.no

Alex Cadden
Grade 3 class teacher

alex@istelemark.no

Stephen Betteridge
Grade 4 class teacher

stephen@istelemark.no

Thomas Wentzel
Grade 5 Class Teacher

thomas@istelemark.no

Marina Currie
Grade 6 class teacher, English (MYP) Language and Exhibition Coordinator

marina@istelemark.no

Richard Sell
Grade 7 Class tutor, PE

richard@istelemark.no

Pier Visser
Grade 8 Class Tutor, Maths (MYP)

pier@istelemark.no

Jodie Munks
Grade 9 Class tutor, Sciences (MYP)

jodie@istelemark.no

Africa Nuñez
Grade 10 Class tutor,Spanish (MYP), Student Council

Aurelia Skov
Individuals and Societies (MYP) Personal Project Coordinator

Jennifer Strand
Webmaster / IT Intergrator

jennifer@istelemark.org / jennifer@istelemark.no

Lesley Goddard
Art Department (PYP)

lesley@istelemark.no

Guro Feste
Art Department (MYP)

Iren Christensen
Norwegian Department (MYP) Careers Advisor

Ingvild Merethe Skaar
Norwegian Department (PYP)

Christine Teigland
Norwegian Department (MYP)

Nina Bruni
SFO, Grade 1&2 Assistant, Library

Kjersti Tørre Larsen
School Nurse